Tags

, ,

indexLooking for Alaska is a YA book by John Green, the author of The Fault in Our Stars and is also the winner of the Michael Prinze Award for Young Adult literature. I’m really glad Mr. Green got such great recognition for The Fault in Our Stars, but he deserved it just as much for this book. It’s just as good as his later work. Looking for Alaska reminded me of Perks of Being a Wallflower, one of my all time favorite reads. The novel covers a one year period of boarding school for Miles (Pudge) and the friends he makes there, including Alaska. Alaska reminds me of Sam in Perks and Miles has aspects of Charlie. It’s not the same story at all, just the same reminiscence of teenage years, good friends and growing up.

I’m very glad to have discovered John Green’s works last year and plan on reading them all! I hope you will too. The library has The Fault in Our Stars and Looking for Alaska and we will surely be ordering his others!