I read. A lot. But almost never do I feel a need to share my opinion with anyone else. Reading is such a subjective thing; we all enjoy different genres and expect something different from a book. But every so often, I read something so wonderful I want to share it with everyone! This is the way I feel about the Pulitzer Prize winning novel by Donna Tartt, The Goldfinch.

What’s it about? It’s about a boy. It’s about making a family. Life. Death. Art. Our place in history. Loving completely and losing. It’s sad, it’s compelling, it’s hopeful. I didn’t even read the blurb before I started the book, which is rare for me. I bought the book for the library because it was a Pulitzer, not because I had any interest in reading it, but every single review I skimmed was so positive.I’m not going to do a plot summary or mention anything that happens. Come at it with an open mind and see what you think it’s about.

As for the writing, I’m going to compare Donna Tartt with people like Margaret Atwood. Everyone once in a great while, I’ll read a book that seems almost to be written in another language because what the author can do with English takes it to another realm altogether, makes it really, really beautiful in itself. Margaret Atwood, Louise Penny, Richard Russo are  a few of my favorites. It’s just simply they make you taste the words, no matter what the subject matter. Donna Tartt does that in The Goldfinch. 

And don’t be overwhelmed by the size of the book! When I was about 500 pages in, I started putting it down, not because I wasn’t riveted by it, but because I wanted it to last even longer.index