Let me preface this post by saying that I’m a Minnesota native and grew up with hockey. One of the state nicknames is the “State of Hockey” and this sport is something you can’t escape growing up in Minnesota. So when I saw we had The Hockey Book, I was probably more excited than most library users in south Texas.

hockeyEdited by Kostya Kennedy, The Hockey Book is a phenomenal tribute to the game. This book is filled with huge, colorful pictures of some of the greatest moments in hockey. The pictures capture the game and its players from the locker room to the fights to the goals to the celebrations.

Throughout the book, there are short essays on various players including Bobby Orr, Gordie Howe, Wayne Gretzky, and Patrick Roy. There are even essays on the Zamboni, winning a face-off, the development of goalie masks and the blades on the ice skates.

But really, the most impressive part is the pictures. I could browse through this book everyday. If you like hockey at all – even just a little – I recommend you stop by the VC/UHV Library and check out this book. You won’t be disappointed.

Review written by Amanda B.