I started to write this review with the phrase, “I’m not a huge fan of young adult…”  but then I realized I really do like YA books. Finally, I said it. My name is Amanda and I enjoy reading young adult literature. Now that I’ve experienced some personal growth today, let us move on to the review of Eragon by Christopher Paolini.

This book is the first of four in the Inheritance Cycle. Although Eragon was originally published in 2002 and I’ve heard great things about Paolini’s books, I haven’t picked them up until now. I’m so glad I did because I couldn’t put this book down.

Eragon tells the story of a young boy, named Eragon (ha), who discovered a strange blue stone in the woods where he hunts. The blue stone, however, is a dragon egg and after it hatches, Eragon raises the dragon in secret until servants of King Galbatorix come looking for it. Eragon and his dragon manage to escape with the help of Brom, the town storyteller.

After escaping the King’s servants, Eragon, Brom and the dragon set off on a whirlwind adventure in the land of Alagaësia. Brom wants keep Eragon and his dragon safe from the King and his servants by getting him to the Varden, a group sworn to end King Galbatorix’s reign. They face a lot of obstacles along the way, but the group knows the importance of reaching the Varden and are willing to do anything to accomplish their mission.

I’m going to warn you, Eragon is a page turner so do not pick up this book unless you have time to read because you will not want to put it down. Although the hardcover book is almost 500 pages, I finished it quickly. The great thing about reading this series is all four books are published so if you like it as much as I did, you don’t have to wait for the next one to come out. So in that respect, I’m glad I waited.

Review written by Amanda B.